All library locations are closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic and will reopen July 6 with curbside pickup available June 8.
No fines will be charged while libraries are closed. More information.

Fred Stielow, Ph.D.

Dr. Fred Stielow

Dr. Fred Stielow is an internationally known academic library expert and web pioneer. While continuing as consultant and scholar-in-residence, he retired in 2014 as Vice President/Dean Emeritus from the fully-online American Public University System. There he built its award-winning combination of virtual library, electronic bookstore and e-press. Other recognition includes 2014’s Distance Librarian of the Year, MCI Cybrarian of the Year, Fellow of the Society of American Archivists, Fulbright Fellow in Italy and the Jameson Fellow of the Library of Congress. Dr. Stielow was also selected as one of the top five graduates from his library school alma mater at the University of Rhode Island and serves on the board of its Harrington School. His Master of Library Science degree is joined by a dual doctorate from Indiana University. 

Dr. Stielow’s library career includes professorial appointments at the University of Maryland and Catholic University along with adjunct teaching for the University of Illinois, University of Puerto Rico and Israel’s Galilee College. Managerial positions extend to the Amistad Research Center at Tulane and Wayne State’s Reuther Labor Library plus slots at the New England Library Board, National Agriculture Library and the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.  Dr. Stielow has contributed over 100 articles and 14 books—featuring Finding Success for Veteran & Military Students and Reinventing the Library for Online Education.

On the public library side, Dr. Stielow headed and helped automate New York’s Mid-Hudson Public Library System with its 64 independent libraries, as well as volunteering on the board of the Charles Town Library. He is also currently a director for United for Libraries, the national association of library trustees, and the American Library Association Commissioner on the U.S. Commission to UNESCO.