All library locations will be closed through May 3 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. More information.

Foundation Directors Reach Out

Members of the board of the library foundation are grateful to the hundreds of donors who support the library. For the last four years, they've taken time to reach out and tell them so through phone calls. The director's annual "thank-a-thon" took place November 19, with foundation directors: Skip Auld, Tessie Ballard, Hamilton Chaney, DeDe Duncan-White, Anna Greenberg, Linda Greene, Joyce Miller, Chris Nelson and Trish Strott making the calls.

This year, directors were calling donors who supported the foundation's engraved brick campaign for the "donor walk" at the new Annapolis Library. There were more than 1,200 individuals to the three-month campaign and most of them were first-time donors, people who had never before made a gift to the library. The directors wanted to personally tell them know how much their support means and how grateful they are for their commitment to the library.

"It's such a pleasure hearing donor's reasons for why they want to support the library," said foundation director Karen Smith. "People really care about how the library impacts our community and want to be part of celebrating the fabulous new Annapolis building."

The engraved brick sidewalk, containing the 1,600 engraved bricks donated through the campaign, will be dedicated at the May 2 Grand Opening Community Day, just one of the many activities taking place that day to celebrate the new building.

People speaking on telephones. See list below
Foundation directors Tessie Ballard, Chris Nelson, Hamilton Chaney and Anna Greenberg talking to donors at the foundation's annual thank-a-thon November 19.
Foundation members. See list below for member names
Members of the FY20 board of directors of the library foundation at their November, 2019 meeting.
First row (l to r), Anna Greenberg, Chris Nelson, Linda Greene, Joan Beck. Standing (l to r), Karen Smith, Joyce Miller,  Jane Campbell-Chambliss, Skip Auld, Mary Hagerty, Chuck Ferrar, Trish Strott and Sam Brown
Not shown: Tessie LaRose Ballard, Hamilton Chaney, DeDe Duncan-White, Bill Hufnell and Marc Rodriguez.